Irene Downgraded To A Tropical Storm (8/28/2011)

Figure 1. IR satellite image of Tropical Storm Irene taken at 1545Z (11:45 EDT)

With a minimum central pressure of 966mb and maximum sustained winds of 60 mph, Irene is now a tropical storm located over New York.  It is moving towards the northeast and will likely be out of the CONUS by late tonight or early tomorrow.  It is important to mention that even though this storm wasn’t as bad as forecast, about 10 lives were lost.  Therefore, if even 1 life is lost, it is considered a devastating storm.  Flash flooding has been the major concern with Irene.  I will try to get out some numbers, as far as total rainfall that Irene dropped along its path.  I will include it in my next and final post of Irene.

Here is the very latest as of 11:00 am EDT 8/28/2011:

SUMMARY OF 1100 AM EDT...1500 UTC...INFORMATION
-----------------------------------------------
LOCATION...41.4N 73.7W
ABOUT 10 MI...20 KM W OF DANBURY CONNECTICUT
MAXIMUM SUSTAINED WINDS...60 MPH...95 KM/H
PRESENT MOVEMENT...NNE OR 20 DEGREES AT 26 MPH...43 KM/H
MINIMUM CENTRAL PRESSURE...966 MB...28.53 INCHES

Figure 2. NHC forecast track of Tropical Cyclone Irene.

About Brian

University of Oklahoma graduate with a degree in Meteorology. Follow me on Twitter: @WeatherInformer
This entry was posted in Weather and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Irene Downgraded To A Tropical Storm (8/28/2011)

  1. Pingback: Irene downgraded to tropical storm | SuperIndia Times

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s